About UAFS

Each semester, more than 6,700 students begin their future at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith. Established as a junior college with 34 students in 1928, the university expanded in size and vision over the years, finally taking on its current name and identity as a premier regional university when it joined the University of Arkansas System in 2002.



UAFS is one of 18 academic institutions and affiliates governed by the University of Arkansas System board of trustees and administered by the president of the system. System offices are located in Little Rock. As a public university, UAFS is overseen by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education.


Quick Facts About UAFS

Name: University of Arkansas – Fort Smith


Founded: 1928


Location: Fort Smith, second-largest city in Arkansas, population 86,209 (Ref: Census 2010)


Chancellor: Paul B. Beran, Ph.D.


History: Fort Smith Junior College (1928) / Westark Junior College (1966) / Westark Community College (1972) / Westark College (1998) / University of Arkansas – Fort Smith (2002)


School colors: Navy, white and burgundy


Mascot: Numa the Lion


Campus: 170 acres / 65 campus buildings and facilities / 1.16 million building square feet maintained


2015 fall enrollment: 6,707 (fall 2015)


Student-to-faculty ratio: 18-to-1


Academic programs:  76 total (1 master's degree, 33 bachelor’s degrees, 14 associate degrees, and 28 certificates)


Degrees awarded: 1,304 (2012-13)


Student activities: More than 90 organizations, including fraternities and sororities


Athletics:  NCAA Division II, Heartland Conference