More than 40 University of Arkansas - Fort Smith students were recognized for their academic performance during the university’s Academic Excellence Awards held April 19.


The awards honor top students from many of the university’s academic programs, with UAFS faculty members submitting nominations for the awards. 


Recipients of this year’s awards and their fields of study are:


Alma: Taylor Brandli, Nursing; Taylor Hall, Mathematics; and Judah Scott, Biology.


Augusta, Ga.: Matthew Farrar, English.


Cameron, Okla.: Laken Emerson, Music.


Conway: Anna Pharr, Animation Technology.


Fayetteville: Morgan Strong, Radiography.


Fort Smith: Stephen Bowman, History; Damian Cabrera, Information Technology; Shirley Carter, Applied Science; Matthew Eggert, Criminal Justice; Danyell Farris, Spanish with Teacher Licensure; Christopher Ha, Music Education – Instrumental; Jeanetta Henry, Organizational Leadership; Holly Hickman, Mathematics with Teacher Licensure; Lauren Hyman, Graphic Design; Quoc Le, Imaging Sciences; Hannah Lovins, Theatre; Quynh Nguyen, International Business; Cecilia Rebrick, Office Management Technology; Joseph Reed, Music Education – Vocal; Jennifer Sanchez, Middle Childhood Education; Daniel Schwartz, Electrical Engineering; Megan Smith, Marketing; Dusan Stojanovic, Media Communication; and Lindsay Tillery, English with Teacher Licensure.


Gans, Okla.: Cody Brown, Computer Graphic Technology.


Greenwood: Wendi Learned, General Technology – Welding; and Kayla Schluterman, Studio Art.


Harrison: Tasha Heard, Dental Hygiene.


Huntington: Sarah Robinson, History with Teacher Licensure.


Lavaca: Jared Melton, Chemistry.


Marble City, Okla.: Aubrey Hale, Mechanical Engineering.


Mena: Kaitlyn Schoeppey, Accounting; and Lydia Razo, General Studies.


Morrow: Kory Reed, Finance.


Pea Ridge: Ethan Higgins, Business Administration.


Pocola, Okla.: Jennifer Jones, Early Childhood Education.


Van Buren: Jessica Medeiros, Judith Anne Wrappe Art Award; Timothy Pool, Electronics Technology; and Reonna Scott, Surgical Technology. 



John Post, Director of Public Information
Date Posted: 
Monday, April 25, 2016
Source URL:
Story ID: