University of Arkansas – Fort Smith students, student organizations and advisers were recognized during the 13th annual NUMAs Awards ceremony held April 22 in the Reynolds Room of the Smith-Pendergraft Campus Center.


NUMAs are presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, student organizations who have worked to improve campus life, and advisers who have supported their organizations and made an impact on student success.


Also awarded during the NUMAs are the Chancellor’s Spirit Awards, given to students who excel academically, have an established long-term record of service in leadership and membership roles on campus, have made a significant impact on campus co-curricular life, display a strong sense of school pride and spirit and utilize an ethical leadership style that is an example for others to follow.


Winners of NUMAs, Greek Life Awards and Intramural Awards were:


Alma: James Batura, SGA Representative of the Year.


Fort Smith: Meagan Bowling, Greek Advisor of the Year; and Tony Jones, Chancellor’s Spirit Award and Greek Man of the Year.


Greenwood: Jennifer Hosley, Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Leader of the Year; and Morgan Kratts, Outstanding Student Leader of the Year.


Harrison: Allie Billups, New Greek Female Member of the Year.


Lincoln: Kory Reed, Greek Chapter President of the Year.


Muldrow, Okla.: Heather Deere, Chancellor’s Spirit Award.


Pearland, Texas: Austin Lloyd, New Greek Male Member of the Year.


Pine Bluff: Cindy Hobson, Outstanding Community Supporter Award.


Poteau, Okla.: Dawn Webster, Outstanding Advisor of the Year.


Rogers: Ashley Andrews, Greek Woman of the Year; and Kari Carbajal, Outstanding Student Leader of the Year.


Van Buren: Dr. Rosario Nolasco-Schultheiss, Outstanding Advisor of the Year.


Additionally, the Campus Activities Board was given the Organization of the Year Award, while the Student Veterans Organization earned the New Student Organization of the Year Award. Delta Gamma won the Community Service Award, and the College of Business Student Leadership Council won the Legacy Maker Award.


The Student Government Association also presented Derek Goodson, assistant professor of computer graphic technology, the Faculty Appreciation Award in Honor of Lori Norin at the Faculty Appreciation Ceremony April 15. 


Article by John Post, Director of Public Information
Photo Credits: 
Photos by Rachel Putman, Photographer, Marketing and Communications
Date Posted: 
Friday, April 29, 2016
Source URL:
Story ID: