Eighty-six students at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith have been chosen for leadership roles in the 13th annual Cub Camp to be held Aug. 18-20.


The event is designed to help incoming freshman acclimate to college life at UAFS by providing opportunities to connect with fellow freshmen, upperclassmen, counselors, faculty, staff and administration. The camp is held on the UAFS campus and features campus tours, informational skits and discussions on involvement opportunities available to students.


Students serving in leadership roles help coordinate the camp, lead discussion groups and serve as counselors.


Hayley Howard of Van Buren, UAFS student who is serving as the Cub Camp director, is proud of the cub camp staff this year.


“We are expecting approximately 350 freshmen to attend and our staff has been working tirelessly since April to ensure that those incoming students have the best experience possible,” Howard said. “I'm hoping that we can make this Cub Camp the best one UAFS has hosted yet."


The students selected for leadership roles are:


Alma: Miraya Marciano.


Altus: Serna Her.


Arlington, Texas: Jamarcus House.


Booneville: Holley Maness.


Charleston: Paige Burton, Chance Shelby and Logan Verkamp.


Cedarville: Tristan Nolan.


Choctaw, Okla.: Trevor Mackey.


Council Bluffs, Iowa: Matthew Gray.


Dardanelle: Diana Gutierrez.


Evansville: Brandy Cox.


Farmington: Mackenzie Sill and Eryn Silva.


Fayetteville: Lauren Miller.


Fort Smith: Wyatt Benjamin, Mason Copeland, Kriston Dorsey, Will Hutson, Dylan Learmont, Raneisha Lewis, Tristen Long, Abigail Morrow, Sharlene Moua, Hannah Nichols, Janea Northrop, Asher Parvu, Erica Matamoros, Landon Peoples, Lilly Phommachanh, Johnny Resendiz, Lalita Souvatdy, Rasa Vongkhamchanh and Adrian Whitaker.


Gans, Okla.: Cody Brown.


Gentry: John Lopez.


Glenwood: Savannah Porter.


Green Forrest: Cody DeLozier.


Greenland: Corey Johnson.


Harrison: Allie Billups and Mallorie Scroggie.


Hattieville: Maddie Looney.


Jay, Okla.: Jordan Sweeney.


Keithville, La.: Rachel Bonk.


Kingston: Raleigh Selsor.


Lavaca: Destiny Mantooth, Brittany Pence, Daniel Romo and Jessica Romo.


Mansfield: Heath Grady and Mackenzie Hamilton.


Mena: Ethan Hamilton.


Muldrow, Okla.: Faith Chambers, Heather Deere and Kristen Phillips.


Murfreesboro, Tenn.: Courtney Lester.


Oden: Kaley Underwood.


Ozark: Malvern Gann.


Paris: Whitney Schneider.


Pea Ridge: Rilee Patrick and Casey Tidwell.


Poteau, Okla.: Skyler Webster.


Rogers: Ashley Anderson and Miguel A. Salas.


Russellville: Clint Atwood.


Sallisaw, Okla.: Claire Burnsed and Josh Simonds.


Scranton: Cory White.


Siloam Springs: Heather Casteel and Monica Roberts.


Spiro, Okla.: Domanique Johnson.


Stigler, Okla.: Nina Echelle.


Van Buren: Sabrina Amonsin, Katie Childers, Ashlee Deffenbaugh, Madison Fouts, Hayley Howard, Ashley James, Tia McCutchen, Lilibeth Pineda and Kalyn Tounzen.


Quang Binh, Vietnam: Tay Pham.


West Fork: Jessica Reed and Tori Seaman.


Whitesboro: Charles Sisemore.


Witter: Cara Cagle.


For more information about Cub Camp, contact Stevens at 479-788-7696 or dave.stevens@uafs.edu


Amy Fairbanks, University Relations Coordinator
Date Posted: 
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Source URL: 
Story ID: