fhs winners

The Fayetteville High School winning team consisted of (left to right) Albert Xu, Ryan Kim,
Steven Du, Kyle Jiang and Fletcher Hall. 

A team from Fayetteville High School took first place in the National Science Bowl regional competition held Jan. 28 at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith.


The winning team, coached by Marc Reif, included Albert Xu, Ryan Kim, Steven Du, Kyle Jiang, and Fletcher Hall. By winning the regional event at UAFS, FHS will advance to the national completion scheduled for April in Washington, D.C.


The second place team from Russellville High School, which was coached by Paul Grey, consisted of Jeremy Collins, Brant Collins, Chris Schaubroeck, Tyler Tracy and Phillip Takach.


The third place team from Haas Hall Academy, coached by Chad Thurman, consisted of Robert Prettyman, Commor Fritsch, Hamaad Mehal, Sarah Sadiq and Sailesh Sirigineedi.


The 14 teams competing were from Fort Smith Southside, Van Buren, Little Rock Central, Fayetteville, and Haas Hall, Chaffin Junior High, Subiaco, and Russellville.  Numerous volunteers from UAFS acted as moderators, timekeepers, scorekeepers and judges.


UAFS faculty volunteers were Brian Abbott, Dave McGinnis, Brandon Hutchinson, Noel Sagullo, Emily Foss, Steve Henderson, Janet Renwick, Becky Williamson, Stewart Huang, Joey Cornell, Daiho Uhm, Trish Richardson and Linus Yu, all of Fort Smith; Jerry West of Greenwood; Chris Knubley and David Mayo of Lavaca; and Jim Christiansen, Chizuko Iwaki, Jennifer Jennings Davis, Stephen Brodie, Jennifer Adams, and Donna Scoggins, all of Van Buren.


The event was organized by David Burkey and Roberta Parks both of Fort Smith, with support from UAFS staff members Julie Martin and Jeannie Sutton of Fort Smith.


The National Science Bowl is organized through the U.S. Department of Energy and is a nationwide academic competition that tests students’ knowledge in all areas of science. The competition began in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields.


About the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas – Fort Smith is the premiere regional institution of Western Arkansas, connecting education with careers and serving as a driver of economic development and quality of place in the greater Fort Smith region. Through a small campus, dedicated professors, and the university’s unique bond with its community, students at UAFS are able to do more in the areas they are passionate about, both on- and off-campus, in a way that prepares them for post-graduate success. To find out how you can do more at UAFS, visit www.uafs.edu.


Date Posted: 
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Source URL: 
Story ID: