More than 40 University of Arkansas - Fort Smith students were recognized for their academic performance when they received Academic Excellence Awards from the university.  


The awards honor top students from many of the university’s academic programs, with UAFS faculty members submitting nominations for the awards. 


Recipients of this year’s awards and their fields of study are:


Beebe: Olivia Bruce, Animation Technology.


Bokoshe, Okla.: Joshua Harris, Psychology.


Bonanza: Talia Blanton, Graphic Design.


Booneville: Kayley Corley, Political Science; and Kyle Jones, Music Education – Instrumental.


Charleston: Emily Stubblefield, Criminal Justice.


Coal Hill: Allyson Frantzen, Biology.


Fayetteville: KayLee Trickey, Mathematics with Teacher Licensure.


Fort Smith: Skyler Adams, English; Tyler Van Adamson, Electrical Engineering; Khanh Do, International Business; Darin Floyd, Office Management Technology; Brenda Fuentes, Nursing; Paul Hackbarth, Mathematics; Elizabeth Harms, Rhetoric and Writing; Kaitlin Jones, Music; Sara Kincannon, Theatre; Jerome A. Kremers, Media Communication; Kiaya Luper, Studio Art; Nicollette Milam, Imaging Sciences; Anthony Mills, Business Administration; Jared H. Needham, Accounting; Bachkhoa Nguyen, Chemistry; Nicholas O’Dell Redding, Marketing; LaRissa Parker, Dental Hygiene; and Jesus Sedeno-Gutierrez, Spanish.


Green Forest: Kendra Turner, English with Teacher Licensure.


Greenwood: Kimber Bennett, Surgical Technology; Andrew Thomas Bonin, Computer Graphics Technology; Tammy Conrow, Workforce Leadership; Shawn L. Tackett, Organizational Leadership; and Andrea Turner, Paralegal Studies.


Hartman: Bridget Duncan, Judith Anne Wrappe Art Award.


Heavener, Okla.: Matthew Luce, Finance.


Muldrow, Okla.: Cornelia Joy Irwin, History.


Oden: Timmery Adams, Radiography.


Poteau, Okla.: Tyler White, Mechanical Engineering.


Searcy: Matthew Stevens, Healthcare Administration.


Springdale: Brianne Smith-Brown, Early Childhood Education.


Van Buren: Israel B. Cuevas, Information Technology; Michael Kazy, Electronics Technology; and Lela Nickell, Music Education – Vocal.


Waldron: Shane Hale, Middle Childhood Education.


West Helena: Carolyn Holloway, Applied Science.


About the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas – Fort Smith is the premiere regional institution of Western Arkansas, connecting education with careers and serving as a driver of economic development and quality of place in the greater Fort Smith region. Through a small campus, dedicated professors, and the university’s unique bond with its community, students at UAFS are able to do more in the areas they are passionate about, both on- and off-campus, in a way that prepares them for post-graduate success. To find out how you can do more at UAFS, visit


Article by John Post, Director of Public Information
Date Posted: 
Friday, May 5, 2017
Source URL:
Story ID: