numas 2017

Winners of NUMA Awards included (left to right) Jennifer Hardaway, Jennifer Hosley, Johnny
Resendiz, Dr. Steve Kite, Corey Johnson, Jessica Reed, Brad Andrews, Mari Odake, Andrew
Haught, Kaden Aary and Michael Lay.

University of Arkansas – Fort Smith students, alumni, registered student organizations and advisers were awarded for their hard work throughout the school year during the 14th annual NUMAs Awards ceremony held in the Reynolds Room of the Smith-Pendergraft Campus Center.


NUMAs are presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, student organizations who have worked to improve campus life, and advisers who have supported their organizations and made an impact on student success.


Also awarded during the NUMAs are the Chancellor’s Spirit Awards, given to students who excel academically, have an established long-term record of service in leadership and membership roles on campus, have made a significant impact on campus co-curricular life, display a strong sense of school pride and spirit and utilize an ethical leadership style that is an example for others to follow.


Winners of NUMAs, Greek Life Awards and Intramural Awards were:


Fayetteville: Corey Johnson, Greek Man of the Year.


Fort Smith: Johnny Resendiz, Fraternity New Member of the Year.


Greenwood: Jennifer Hosley, NUMA Student Leader of the Year.


Modesto, Calif.: Dr. Ann-Gee Lee, NUMA Advisor of the Year.


Osaka, Japan: Mari Odaki, Chancellor’s Spirit Award.


Puebla City, Mexico: Jesus Sedeno-Gutierrez, Chancellor’s Spirit Award.


Roland, Okla.: Brad Andrews, Greek Chapter Advisor of the Year.


Scranton: Corey White, Intramurals Player of the Year.


Siloam Springs: Andrew Haught, Greek Chapter President of the Year.


Spiro, Okla.: Kaden Aary, Greek Woman of the Year.


Van Buren: Dr. Steve Kite, NUMA Advisor of the Year.


West Fork: Jennifer Hardaway, NUMA Non-Traditional Student Leader of the Year.


Winslow: Jessica Reed, Sorority New Member of the Year.


Additionally, several student organizations were recognized during the event. Fall Excellence Awards were given to the UAFS Cultural Network and the History Club, while Spring Excellence Awards were given to Alpha Lambda Delta, Sigma Nu, Alpha Omicron Pi, Delta Gamma, the Non-Traditional Student Organization, Parents at UAFS, the Student Alumni Association and the Student Veterans Organization.


Star of Excellence awards – recognizing organizations who won excellence awards for both the fall and spring semesters – went to the Campus Activities Board and the Surgical Technology Students Association.


Student organizations that completed 70 percent or more of trainings, workshops, deadlines, and event participation in a given semester were awarded the excellence awards.


About the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas – Fort Smith is the premiere regional institution of Western Arkansas, connecting education with careers and serving as a driver of economic development and quality of place in the greater Fort Smith region. Through a small campus, dedicated professors, and the university’s unique bond with its community, students at UAFS are able to do more in the areas they are passionate about, both on- and off-campus, in a way that prepares them for post-graduate success. To find out how you can do more at UAFS, visit


Article by John Post, Director of Public Information
Photo Credits: 
Photo by Rachel Putman, Photographer, Marketing and Communications Office
Date Posted: 
Friday, May 12, 2017
Source URL:
Story ID: