patrick sheridan
Patrick Sheridan

The Symphonic Band at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith will hold a concert at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 4 as part of the university’s Season of Entertainment 37.


The concert will take place at the ArcBest Corp. Performing Arts Center in the Fort Smith Convention Center, located at 55 S. 7th St. Admission is by Season 37 season ticket, or individual tickets are $6.


The UAFS Symphonic Band is under the direction of Dr. Alexandra Zacharella, director of bands and associate professor of low brass. At the concert, the band will be performing works by John Phillip Sousa, George Grainger, and other works, including a musical journey through New Orleans.


The concert will feature guest artists Patrick Sheridan and Harry Watters. Sheridan, a tubist for the world-renowned Jupiter Performing Artists, and Watters, a prominent New Orleans trombonist, will also present a series of masterclasses from 4-6 p.m. Oct. 3 in the ArcBest Corp. Performing Arts Center. The classes are free and open to the public, and junior high and high school tuba and euphonium

players are welcome to bring their instruments. 


Students performing in the concert are:

harry watters
Harry Watters


Alma: Tim Clifton, Kyle Scott,


Booneville: Dustin McLeod,


Fayetteville: Tywon Kelson.


Fort Smith: Jesse Boyd, Alyshia Cook, Will Davis, Chase Garner, Aaron James, Christian Jones, Christopher Jones, Kaitlyn Jones, Karla Juarez, Charles Melby, Zabdiel Montes, Chloe Norton, Raul Ortiz, Miranda Pham, Cassie Reynolds, Jose Sanchez, Kelly Thomas, Caitlin Tusing, Christian Tusing, Sophie Vargas,


Gentry: Justin Hazard, John Lopez,


Green Forest: Edgar Hernandez.


Greenwood: Dakota Archer, Hunter Cook, Bryce Langley, Christian Mora, Wesley Rylee, Emily Smith, Gunner Stewart, Holleigh Willis, Kayla VanPelt,


Mansfield: Cody Crowe.


Pine Bluff: Gillian Johnson.


Pocola, Okla.: James Eaton.


Poteau, Okla.: William Newby.


Quiton, Okla.: Jimmy Gee.


Rogers: Brandi Cappello,


Rudy: Mason Sangster.


Stigler, Okla.: Caleb Drewry.


Van Buren: Beth Duquette,


Waldron: Cody Crowe.


Winslow: Liam Johnson.


The concert is part of Season of Entertainment 37, a year-long lineup of entertainment sponsored by the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith featuring a variety of plays, musicals and symphonic performances. For tickets, contact the UAFS Box Office at 479-788-7300 or visit


About the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas – Fort Smith is the premiere regional institution of Western Arkansas, connecting education with careers and serving as a driver of economic development and quality of place in the greater Fort Smith region. Small class sizes, dedicated faculty and staff, affordable tuition rates, and a diverse on-campus culture allow UAFS students to fully explore their areas of interest in ways that prepare them for post-graduate success academically, professionally, and personally. To find out what makes UAFS just right for you, go to


Date Posted: 
Friday, September 15, 2017
Source URL:
Story ID: