jazz band
Students perform during a jazz concert in December. 

The Jazz Catz and Jazz Band at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith will treat music lovers to a concert of 100 years of music at 7:30 p.m. April 17 as part of the university’s Season of Entertainment 37.


The concert will take place in the ArcBest Corp. Performing Arts Center in the Fort Smith Convention Center, located at 55 S. 7th Street. Tickets are $8 for general admission and are free for UAFS students and employees.


From the early jazz of the 1910s to 2017 pop hits, the concert will span a century of music that includes work by Ella Fitzgerald, Louie Armstrong, Frank Sinatra and Katy Perry. The Jazz Catz and Jazz Band will perform tunes like “Chained to the Rhythm,” “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes,” “Take a Train” and “A Night in Tunisia.”


The show will also feature guest performer Chris Vadala, one of America’s foremost saxophonists.  


“The Catz are excited to perform with a world-renowned saxophonist like Chris Vadala,” said Don Bailey, director of jazz studies. “There’s something magical about sharing the stage with an artist of Mr. Vadala’s caliber. Be prepared for a high energy show.”


“The UAFS Jazz Show represents the highlight of the year for the students of the Jazz Band and Jazz Catz. Both ensembles are at the top of their game and are performing some great music that the audience will love,” said Dr. Christopher Barrick, head of the Music Department. “It will be an honor for these students to share the stage with luminary saxophonist Chris Vadala.”


Students performing in the concert include:


Bonanza: KD Spinas.


Booneville: Niki Waters.


Cedarville: Chance Hevner.


Cedar Falls, Iowa: Ben Baker.


Fort Smith: Alyshia Cook, Will Davis, Zabdiel Montes, James Patrick Martin, Raul Ortiz, Josue Saucedo, SK Thomas, Caitlin Tusing, Sophie Vargas and Ethan Womack.


Gentry: John Lopez and Audra Weathers.  


Greenwood: Dakota Archer, Skyler Heffner, Christian Mora, Emily Smith and Crystal Williams.


Hackett: Winston Turner.


Harrison: Landon King.


Poteau, Okla.: William Newby.


Rogers: Brandi Cappello.


Stigler, Okla.: Caleb Drewry.


Van Buren: Jennifer Brammer, Michaela Cooper, Kennon Doss, Beth Duquette, Haley Harwood and Jensen Smith.


The concert is part of Season of Entertainment 37, a yearlong lineup of entertainment sponsored by the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith featuring a variety of plays, musicals and symphonic performances.


To purchase or acquire tickets, contact the UAFS Box Office at 479-788-7300 or http://tickets.uafs.edu. For more information about the concert, contact Bailey at 479-788-7554 or Barrick at 479-788-7547.


Date Posted: 
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Source URL: 
Story ID: