john boozman
John Boozman

Sen. John Boozman, Arkansas’ senior U.S. Senator and dean of the state’s congressional delegation, will serve as the keynote speaker for the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith’s commencement exercises at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. May 12 in the Stubblefield Center at UAFS.


A Fort Smith native and Northside High School graduate, Boozman boasts more than 15 years of experience representing Arkansas in the U.S. Congress, beginning as a representative prior to his election to the U.S. Senate in 2010. In 2017, he was sworn in for a second term.


Boozman currently serves on five committees in the 115th Congress, including Appropriations; Budget, Environmental and Public Works; Veterans’ Affairs; and Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry. Additionally, he serves on several boards in the Rogers community, where he and his wife Cathy reside.


“Senator Boozman has been a policy leader in Arkansas since his election in 2002 as a U.S. representative. Now as a senator, he represents the best qualities of our elected officials,” said Dr. Paul B. Beran, UAFS chancellor. “We are excited and grateful to have him address our graduates just before they embark on the next step of their lives.”


The ceremony recognizes more than 800 students completing graduation requirements during the spring and first summer terms to earn either a technical certificate or associate, bachelor’s or master’s degree.


In addition to Chancellor Beran, UAFS administrators presenting candidates are Dr. Georgia Hale, provost and senior vice chancellor for academic affairs; Dr. Ken Warden, dean of the College of Applied Science and Technology; Dr. Ashok Subramanian, dean of the College of Business; Dr. Carolyn Mosley, dean of the College of Health Sciences; Dr. Paul Hankins, dean of the College of Communication, Languages, Arts and Social Sciences; Dr. Ron Darbeau, dean of the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics; Dr. Norm Dennis, senior associate dean for the College of Engineering at the University of Arkansas – Fayetteville; and Wayne Womack, registrar.


Eric Smithson, chair-elect of the UAFS Alumni Advisory Council, will also provide a welcome from the Alumni Association. Dr. Larry Faulk, chief marshal and bearer of the mace, will give a call to order and adjournment. Music will be provided by the UAFS Symphonic Band, and music student Kody Goad will serve as vocalist with the band on the National Anthem and the alma mater. Dr. Stephen Husarik, head carillonneur, will provide pre-ceremony music and post-recessional bell peal on the Donald W. Reynolds Bell Tower carillon.


Graduating at the 10 a.m. ceremony are graduates of the College of Applied Science and Technology and the College of Communication, Languages Arts and Social Sciences. Graduating at the 2 p.m. ceremony are the College of Business, the College of Health Sciences, and the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. For more information, visit


Date Posted: 
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Source URL:
Story ID: