Top students from 42 academic programs at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith were given accolades for their work when they received Academic Excellence Awards from the university.


Recipients of this year’s awards and their fields of study are:


Alma: Kailey Anderson, Information Technology; Nichole Dapson, English with Teacher Licensure 7-12; Rebekkah Hodges, Chemistry; Zachery Teague, Electrical Engineering Technology; Molly Tennison, Theatre.


Altus: Serena Her, International Business.


Arkoma, Okla.: Mary Caroline Fimpel, Early Childhood Education.


Charleston: Hannah Caroline Hayes, Nursing; Constance Helton, Computer Graphic Technology; Christian Taggart, Finance; Levi Young, Animation Technology.


Clarksville: Layton Pruett, Elementary Education K-6.


Cove: Christa Super, Biology.


Elkins: Andrea Wilson, Dental Hygiene.


Fayetteville: Morgan Strong, Imaging Sciences.


Fort Smith: Lissa Brooks, English; Heather Cotner, Legal Studies; Thalita Da Silva, Media Communication; Chasse Daniels, Business Administration; Brittany Fox, Mathematics; Bailey Hanf, Surgical Technology; Angie Navarro Castillo, Mathematics with Teacher Licensure 7-12; Dylon Scheele-Martinez, Psychology; Michelle Schmitz, Middle Childhood Education 4-8; Julia Sexton, Graphic Design; Noah Spear, Mechanical Engineering; Deanna Thompson, Workforce Leadership; Courtney Yandell, Radiography; Viktoria Yilmaz, Criminal Justice.


Gentry: Justin Hazard, Music Education – Instrumental.


Greenwood: Damon Lee, Organizational Leadership; and Vincent Scott, History.


Huntington: Crystal Seratt, Office Management Technology.


Natural Dam: Brandon Newton, Rhetoric and Writing.


Owings Mills, Md.: Shawn Nguyen, Accounting.


Ozark: Marlleneh Zamorano, Spanish with Teacher Licensure K-12.


Roland, Okla.: Brandon Dyer, Electrical Engineering.


Van Buren: Melinda Lee Colvin, Healthcare Administration; Rhett Kelley, Electronics Technology; Jessica Medeiros, Studio Art; Racheal Simpson, History with Social Studies Teacher Licensure 7-12; Maria Valente, Marketing.


Wynne: Layla Stallings, Applied Science.


Award recipients were nominated by UAFS faculty members.


Date Posted: 
Monday, May 7, 2018
Source URL:
Story ID: