Members of the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith campus community, from students to alumni to registered student organizations, were recognized for their contributions to the university this school year during the 15th annual NUMAS Awards ceremony held May 4 in the Smith-Pendergraft Campus Center.

NUMAS recognize students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, student organizations who have worked to improve campus life, and advisers who have supported their organizations and made an impact on student success.

The Chancellor’s Spirit Award is also given out during the ceremony to students who excel academically, have an established long-term record of service in leadership and membership roles on campus, have made a significant impact on campus co-curricular life, display a strong sense of school pride and spirit and utilize an ethical leadership style that is an example for others to follow.


Students and employees winning awards were:

Barling: Daniel Ramirez, Student Life Appreciation Award.

Booneville: Holley Maness, Student Leader of the Year.

Charleston: Whitney Hobbs, Greek Woman of the Year.

Fort Smith: Ryan Green, Non-Traditional Student Leader of the Year; Tim McClure, Chapter Advisor of the Year.

Greenbrier: Andrew Cook, Fraternity New Member of the Year.

Greenwood: Jasmine Smith, Advisor of the Year.

Hackett: Amy Tan, Sorority New Member of the Year.

Jay, Okla.: Jordan Sweeney, Intramural Player of the Year.

Muldrow, Okla.: Trevor England, Chapter President of the Year.

Pairland, Texas: Austin Lloyd, Greek Man of the Year.

Sallisaw, Okla: Joshua Simonds, Chancellor’s Spirit Award.

Spiro, Okla.: Kaden Aary, Chancellor’s Spirit Award.


Student organizations winning awards were: Student Veterans Organization, winner of Organization of the Year; American Legion Post 31, winner of Community Supporter of the Year; Residence Hall Association, winner of New Student Organization of the Year; Rotaract, winner of Community Service Organization of the Year and the Legacy Maker Award.

Star of Excellence awards – recognizing organizations who have excelled in participating in event and training opportunities for their members – went to the Campus Activities Board, Rotaract and Spanish Club.


Date Posted: 
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Source URL:
Story ID: