Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content

HLC Reaffirmation of Accreditation

The University of Arkansas - Fort Smith’s institutional accreditor is the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

The university has maintained continuous accreditation since March 28, 1973. UAFS’s most recent reaffirmation of accreditation was in August of 2015. The next reaffirmation (comprehensive) will occur during the 2024-2025 academic year.

Preparation is currently underway for this reaffirmation visit. Committees are collecting evidence in support of narratives that demonstrate how UAFS meets and exceeds the five criteria for accreditation, assumed practices, and federal compliance requirements.

The Higher Learning Commission Liaison for the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith is:

Dr. Jamie Stanesa
Vice President of Accreditation Relations

You can learn more about Dr. Stanesa by visiting the HLC Staff Liaison webpage

For information about UAFS's HLC reaffirmation process please contact Lisa-Marie Norris.

This site will be updated as UAFS prepares for its HLC reaffirmation visit.