Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content

HLC Assumed Practices

Foundational to the Criteria and Core Components is a set of practices shared by institutions of higher education in the United States. Unlike the Criteria for Accreditation, these Assumed Practices are (1) generally matters to be determined as facts rather than matters requiring professional judgment and (2) not expected to vary by institutional mission or context. Every institution is expected to be in compliance with all Assumed Practices at all times.

  1. Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct
  2. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
  3. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
  4. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

Additional details regarding these assumed practices are available on the Higher Learning Commission website.