Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content


The University of Arkansas - Fort Smith has established a system of councils and committees to promote internal communication and administrative teamwork. The active involvement of committee members, representing a broad cross section of the campus, provides a high level of involvement in decision making and is recognized as a strength in the decision-making process. The system allows faculty, staff, administrators, and students to be involved in the matters that affect them. Faculty – except those with adjunct, provisional, or visiting appointments or those whose teaching load is less than 50 percent of their workload – are eligible to vote on the Faculty Council. Staff – except those with temporary appointments – are eligible to participate in the University Staff Council. Vice chancellors, deans, and some academic administrators are assigned to either the Chancellor’s Senior Staff Council or the Deans Council. Students are eligible to participate in the Student Government Association.


Learn More

This council advances the educational mission of the university and addresses issues of concern related to academic programs including adding and sunsetting programs, program delivery and review, quality of programs, and advising. The Deans Council also provides a conduit for discussion of issues within the colleges to ensure uniformity in implementing university policies and procedures. 

Chair: Dr. Shadow Robinson, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs

Council Members:
Dr. Latisha Settlage - dean, College of Business and Industry
Dr. Paul Hankins - dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Dr. Dean Cantù - dean, College of Health, Education, and Human Sciences
Dr. Margaret Tanner - associate provost and director of graduate studies

Staff Senate facilitates participation in university governance, thus fostering staff development and commitment to university goals, and operates in an official capacity with authority delegated by the chancellor. 

The recognized voice of the student body, members represent student issues and concerns before university administration and actively work to improve the university experience for every UAFS student. Learn more about SGA.

Voting members of the Faculty Council shall be (1) those full-time employees of the university with teaching included as 50 percent or more of their appointment and (2) professional librarians. Adjunct faculty and visiting faculty are considered non-voting members of the Faculty Council. All questions concerning membership in the Faculty Council shall be resolved by the elected officers of the Faculty Senate, subject to appeal to the Faculty Senate. 

The Faculty Senate and its constituent committees  serve as the faculty voice of the university. The Faculty Senate provide a forum wherein any matter associated with academic policy can be openly discussed by any faculty member; enables the faculty to reach informed collective recommendations on academic matters; advises the administration on academic matters including new and existing academic programs; provides advice to the administration on fiscal, personnel, and long-range planning matters; and provides the faculty a representative voice in issues relating to the exercise of academic freedom, professional rights, general welfare, working conditions, and professional responsibilities in the university community. 

More information about these governing bodies is available in the Faculty and Staff Handbook.